Tuesday, June 25, 2013

2014 CHAN: Keshi calls up Agbim, 23 others for CIV

Super Eagles’ Head Coach, Stephen Keshi has swiftly turned his
attention to the 2014 African Nations Championship qualifying match
against Cote d’Ivoire, by calling up 24 home boys for the game billed
for the end of next week.

Even as the African champions were rueing several missed chances in
the 3-0 defeat to World and European champions Spain at the FIFA
Confederations Cup tournament in Brazil, Keshi pencilled down
goalkeeper Chigozie Agbim, defenders Azubuike Egwuekwe, Godfrey
Oboabona, Solomon Kwambe and Benjamin Francis, midfielders Emeka Eze
and Sunday Mba and forward Muhammad Gambo from the squad that were
with him in Brazil, and added 14 more from Nigeria’s top flight and
two from the lower division.

Returning are goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defender Kunle Odunlami and
striker Obinna Nwachukwu and Gomo Onduku who were part of the team’s
training camp in Germany ahead of the international friendly with
Mexico in Texas, USA.

Defender Chibuzor Okonkwo, no stranger to the senior team camp, is
joined by familiar faces Umar Zango and Ezekiel Bassey, Ayo Saka and
Anthony Okputu.

Nigeria Professional Football League top scorer Dele Olorundare of
Sunshine Stars is joined by former junior international midfielder
Olufemi Oladapo.

New faces are Mohammed Ajia of Bayelsa United, Enyimba FC’s Ifeanyi
Edeh, Pius Samson of Ranch Bees, Festus Ajah of Union Bank FC and
Warri Wolves’ Etebo Oghene.

The players are expected to report at the Bolton White Apartments,
Abuja on Sunday, 30th June, 2013.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Football Federation has announced that the
match will be played at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on Saturday,
6th July.

“We are happy for the favourable response from the Kaduna State
Government, and we have also approached the National Sports Commission
for permission to use the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna for the

“The grass is excellent and the entire facility is so well-maintained.
The Super Eagles will find the place comfortable,” Barrister Musa
Amadu, NFF General Secretary who was in Kaduna on Monday, said.


Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Godfrey Oboabona
(Sunshine Stars); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC); Kunle Odunlami
(Sunshine Stars); Ezekiel Bassey (Lobi Stars); Umar Zango (Kano
Pillars); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Chibuzor Okonkwo (Enugu

Midfielders: Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers); Ayo Saka (Enyimba FC);
Olufemi Oladapo (3SC); Emeka Eze (Enugu Rangers); Mohammed Ajia
(Bayelsa United)

Forwards: Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars); Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland
FC); Gomo Onduku (Bayelsa United); Ifeanyi Edeh (Enyimba FC); Anthony
Okputu (Lobi Stars); Pius Samson (Ranch Bees); Festus Ajah (Union
Bank); Etebo Oghene (Warri Wolves); Dele Olorundare (Sunshine Stars)

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...